As a school, we are situated on a site where it is believed houses have stood since Saxon times but in the past three centuries there have been two Worthy Park Houses. The present house was built in 1820 and designed by the revered architect Sir Robert Smirke. Its impressive position with its extensive grounds, overlooking the Itchen Valley is a perfect home for the pupils of the school. Prince’s Mead was founded in 1949 in Winchester and moved to its present location in 1999.
The first house was built in 1722. This was subsequently demolished and a new mansion was constructed on the site in 1820 by Sir Charles Ogle.
At the request of his wife Letitia he sold the house and the estate in 1825 to Samuel Wall, a banker from Worcester.
His descendants retained the house until it ceased to be a private residence. The drawing room with its panelled ceiling survives today, as does the large and impressive mirror which dominates one end of the room.
If you would like to find out more about the fascinating history of Worthy Park House, a booklet has been printed all about the various houses on the site and the people who lived there. Rich in detail with colourful photographs, it makes a wonderful read.
Please contact the School to purchase a copy of The History of Worthy Park House (£5 plus p&p).